TEAM is run by volunteers from educational, business, professional and international backgrounds. We each use our skills in different areas such as organising conferences, study tours, CPD events and fundraising. If you would like to join us, as a volunteer, please send Antony Frost an email to this address –


 The Lord Watson of Richmond, CBE

Following a career as a presenter and writer for the BBC , Alan Watson was European Chairman of Burson Marsteller for over 10 years. He is currently Chairman of CTN Communications. Alan holds a range of honorary posts including: Visiting Fellow at Oriel College, Oxford and Fellow of Jesus College, Cambridge and High Steward of the University of Cambridge. In 1999 he was made a Life Peer and is a Member of the House of Lords Select Committee on the European Union.

Chairman – Laurence Smy

Laurence-Crop-150x150Laurence is a graduate in History and Theology of the University of Cambridge. He became the Headmaster of Sir William Borlase’s Grammar School in Marlow. Subsequently he worked for UCAS and was director of United Westminster Schools. He is currently a working member of The Council of Christian-Muslim Relations (CCMR), High Wycombe and contributes to seminars at the Middle East Studies Centre in Oxford. He is a member of several think-tanks including The Global Policy Institute and the Wyndham Place Charlemagne Trust.



Vice Chairman – Antony Frost

Antony hasAnony-Frost-136x150 run a successful business in the horticultural industry and joined TEAM because of his lifelong interest in world affairs. He holds a degree from the University of London, was a parliamentary candidate in 1999 and is a member of numerous think-tanks including: The Federal Trust, The Global Policy Institute, The Wyndham Place Charlemagne Trust and Unlock Democracy. He has organised numerous study tours, in the course of which, he has worked closely with leaders of Brussels Lobby groups and senior personnel in the European Union.



Treasurer – Graeme Titmas

Graeme was the Finance Director for a fine food company and formerly the company secretary and financial controller for a listed company.

Geneva Study Tour Leader – David Spence

David is a senior visiting fellow at the LSE European Institute. David spent several years in the European Commission, latterly as EU minister counsellor for disarmament and security affairs in Geneva.

Conference Organiser and Events Committee – John Wilson

John has an MA in International Relations from the University of Southern California. After serving in the U.S. Navy during the Vietnam War, he taught first in Iowa and then became history and economics teacher at the American School in London. John now runs an outreach program sponsored by the American School of London speaking to schools and community groups on American history and politics.

Conference Organiser and Events Committee-Edward Towne

Edward studied a BA (2:1) in European Studies (History Major) at UEA and a Cambridge PGCE. He taught history at Bristol Grammar School and King’s School, Rochester, where he completed a part-time MA at Birkbeck College, London University in Early Modern English History.

Contributing CPD Committee – Michael Mitchell

Mike is an Associated Lecturer at Plymouth University specializing in Citizenship education. He has authored several texts on citizenship education and is a Chief Examiner for GCSE Citizenship Studies. He was the Project Leader for the DfE National Citizenship CPD Project which ran from 2008-2011.

 Conference Organiser and Events Committee – Kevin McSharry

Kevin served 42 years in Secondary Education, latterly as the Head teacher of a large Catholic High School in north-west London. His passions are history, travel (recently went to Brazil) and international relations

Executive Committee – Tim Beyer Helm

Since June 2010, Timothy Beyer Helm is the Adviser covering transatlantic relations & outreach in the European Parliament (EP) Secretary General’s Cabinet. In February 2011, Tim was also assigned to the Strategic Planning Team. Previously, from July 2009, Tim was Special Adviser to EP Vice-President Edward McMillan-Scott MEP.

Executive Committee – Richard Hillebrand

Richard is a history teacher at St Albans School for girls. Has been on the annual study tour to Brussels with TEAM and has brought his students to TEAM conferences

Executive Committee – Marc Cooper

Marc is a lecturer with the Open University and teaches on International relations and diplomacy at the London College.

Executive Committee – Dirk Hazell

Dirk is the leader of the UK European People’s Party.